Cancel your membership to the Direct Debit Travel scheme
We have created a new service to help you cancel your Direct Debit.
Please find the answers to frequently asked questions below about cancelling your Direct Debit. This applies to all Adult, Student and Child Direct Debits.
When we receive your request to cancel, we will apply the cancellation to your account based on the date you submitted on your form. If you have any unused days on your ticket, and their value exceeds £5.50, we will process a refund. We will block your Swift card as soon as possible, unless you have selected a cancellation date in the future. If you have requested to cancel at a future date your Swift card will be blocked the day after your account is cancelled.
If you receive a paper ticket each month, you will be asked to provide a photo of the ticket torn in half and upload this to your cancellation request.
You can still use this service to cancel your Direct Debit but we would advise you to also cancel your instruction at the bank. We process our Direct Debits at least 10 days before the payment date, by cancelling your instruction at the bank it will stop any further payments being taken.
You will be asked to supply the date you last used your ticket or a date up to one month in the future. We will use this date as your cancellation date. All payments will be stopped from this date and your ticket will no longer be valid for travel one day after your cancellation date. If your next payment is due in 10 days or less please refer to the previous question.
When you submit the cancellation form, we will automatically calculate any unused days of travel if;
- All previous payments have been received in full
- There are at least seven (7) unused days remaining on your ticket
- The value of your unused days exceeds £5.50
We apply an admin fee of £5.50 per refund request which will be deducted from any refund amount due back to you.
If you are due a refund, we will pay this directly into the bank account you normally pay your Direct Debit from. Refunds normally take up to 28 days to process.
We won’t contact you to tell you this has happened so please check your bank account.
Yes, if any outstanding balance from your previous account has been cleared you can re-join the Scheme at any time. Visit our direct debit page to reapply as a new customer and for terms and conditions.