Skip to main content

Child tickets

Travel for school or leisure

Children under the age of 16 (and 16-18 year olds with a photocard) pay a discounted fare on all buses, trams and trains in the West Midlands. Just ask for a child ticket when you travel. Children under the age of five travel free.

Find child tickets

Swift 

Most child tickets are now available on Swift photocard. This gives you quicker access at rail gates with network and train tickets, and you just scan and go when hopping on board the bus. Plus the cards are more durable and replacements are easier to process and cheaper for you.  

Other tickets

Some operators have an additional range of passes available to use on their services only. See operator websites for more details.

Term Dates

Autumn Term 2020

Term Starts: Tuesday 1 September 2020
Half Term: Monday 26 October 2020 to Friday 30 October 2020
Term Ends: Friday 18 December 2020

Spring Term 2021

Term Starts: Monday 4 January 2021
Half Term: Monday 15 February 2021 to Friday 19 February 2021
Term Ends: Thursday 1 April 2021

Summer Term 2021

Term Starts: Monday 19 April 2021
Half Term: Monday 31 May 2021 to Friday 4 June 2021
Term Ends: Wednesday 21 July 2021

PassProtect


Child term ticket replacements made easy with the PassProtect scheme.


 

Protect my pass

Student


Tickets for students over 18 in full-time education or 16-18 year old's who are not eligible for the 16-18 photocard

Student tickets

Direct Debit


Most child tickets are available on Direct Debit which is the best value option for buying tickets

Child Direct Debit tickets

Ways to buy


Convenient places to buy or top up


 

Ways to buy tickets

Aged 16-18?


If you're aged 16-18 you may be eligible for child fares with a 16-18 photocard.

Get a 16-18 photocard

Under 16?


If you're under 16 but look older, you can apply for an under 16 Photocard which can be used as proof of age when travelling

Get an under 16 photocard